Common Sense Tips for Managing Portions

Join this week’s Habits of Health® Webinar, Your LifeBook—Element 09: Understand the value, timing, and purpose of eating Fuelings to achieve optimal health on Wednesday, October 9th  at 8:30 p.m. ET/7:30 p.m. CT/5:30 p.m. PT, hosted by Independent OPTAVIA® Coach Kat Fuller.
HOW TO CONNECT:
Please click the link below to join the webinar:
https://zoom.us/j/113312513

Or iPhone one-tap (US Toll):
+1(646)558.8656

Or Dial (US Toll):
+1(646)558.8656

And Enter the Pin: 113312513#

Whether you are looking to achieve or maintain a healthy weight, eating the right amount of food is just as important as what you eat. The terms “portion size” and “serving size” are sometimes used interchangeably, but they are actually different. Portion size refers to the amount you eat in one setting while serving size is the recommended amount of food you should eat.

Although you may be eating healthy foods, it is important to still practice portion control. Use these tips to keep your portions in check:

  • Drink water. Dehydration can be mistaken for hunger. Have a glass of water before your meal to help you feel fuller and prevent overeating.
  • Fill your plate with green veggies. Fill up your plate with green vegetables that are low in calories and rich in nutrients.
  • Eat slowly. Eating quickly can prevent your brain from processing that you are full. Take your time when eating a meal. Savor each bite so your body is able to recognize those important hunger and fullness cues.
  • Track your food. Keep track of your meals and portion sizes in your Habits of Health® App to effectively manage your portions. By using the App, you’ll have record of exactly what you’re eating.

Ask me, your OPTAVIA Coach, about other ways to keep your portions in control during your journey to Lifelong Transformation, One Healthy Habit at a Time®.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.